Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

24 hour lock on save data?

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • 24 hour lock on save data?

    I know it's a system level option, but what I can't figure out is why developers use the 24 lock on save data on the PS3? What good does it do Zen to keep me from copying my save data from the PS3 in my bedroom to the cloud and then to immediately go to my living room, download the data and play with my most current data? Is there a good reason for it? Because it's kind of annoying if there isn't. Actually, it's annoying even if there is.

  • #2
    This is Sony's doing and not the developers. Sony's cloud servers are quite large and can take some time for the save data to cache on them. It's also a way to reduce traffic. The cloud server is designed for backup purposes and not constant saving and loading.

    Comment


    • #3
      Originally posted by shogun00 View Post
      This is Sony's doing and not the developers. Sony's cloud servers are quite large and can take some time for the save data to cache on them. It's also a way to reduce traffic. The cloud server is designed for backup purposes and not constant saving and loading.
      Nope. It's 100% optional. I can save my data from, say, Killzone 3 to the cloud, change to the other console, and immediately download that data from the cloud. It's only a few games that have the 24 hour lock.

      Comment


      • #4
        Originally posted by samdu View Post
        Nope. It's 100% optional. I can save my data from, say, Killzone 3 to the cloud, change to the other console, and immediately download that data from the cloud. It's only a few games that have the 24 hour lock.
        Strange! The last time I used the cloud feature (when I got 1 month for free), all of my saves were on a 24 hour lock. It's possible that the 24 lock might be applied to only third party titles, since all of the games were from third party companies.

        I have seen this question being asked before to a few of the other companies and they said it was Sony's decision.

        Comment


        • #5
          Originally posted by shogun00 View Post
          Strange! The last time I used the cloud feature (when I got 1 month for free), all of my saves were on a 24 hour lock. It's possible that the 24 lock might be applied to only third party titles, since all of the games were from third party companies.

          I have seen this question being asked before to a few of the other companies and they said it was Sony's decision.
          You can tell which ones are going to be a problem and which ones aren't when you start the copy process. The ones with a lock warn you ahead of time. Ones that won't be a problem just go straight to the copying process.

          Comment


          • #6
            Originally posted by samdu View Post
            I know it's a system level option, but what I can't figure out is why developers use the 24 lock on save data on the PS3? What good does it do Zen to keep me from copying my save data from the PS3 in my bedroom to the cloud and then to immediately go to my living room, download the data and play with my most current data? Is there a good reason for it? Because it's kind of annoying if there isn't. Actually, it's annoying even if there is.
            I agree. I would love the facility to easily move from the livingroom to the office when my OH wants to use the main TV. As it stands, you can transfer the ZP2 settings file as often as you like, but the Local Highscores file is the one that gets locked. Consequently I have lost track of my highscore files as to which actually holds my real highscore.

            I read up on this 24hr lock feature and it is entirely at the developer's discretion. Sony offer it in order to stop cheating on certain games; quite what sort of cheating/bypassing they mean I am not sure.

            Any chance of having this restriction lifted Barbie? Or an explanation as to why it is needed? It would be greatly appreciated.
            Last edited by iCub; 11-09-2012, 07:55 PM.

            Comment


            • #7
              Originally posted by iCub View Post
              I read up on this 24hr lock feature and it is entirely at the developer's discretion. Sony offer it in order to stop cheating on certain games; quite what sort of cheating/bypassing they mean I am not sure.
              I think I understand the lock now. It appears to only occur when the save file is copy prohibited, which all but the main Zen Pinball 2 file supports that feature (same for Marvel Pinball).

              This will explain why all of my saves said it for me, because I only uploaded the files that had copy protection to the cloud.

              Comment


              • #8
                Originally posted by iCub View Post
                I agree. I would love the facility to easily move from the livingroom to the office when my OH wants to use the main TV. As it stands, you can transfer the ZP2 settings file as often as you like, but the Local Highscores file is the one that gets locked. Consequently I have lost track of my highscore files as to which actually holds my real highscore.

                I read up on this 24hr lock feature and it is entirely at the developer's discretion. Sony offer it in order to stop cheating on certain games; quite what sort of cheating/bypassing they mean I am not sure.

                Any chance of having this restriction lifted Barbie? Or an explanation as to why it is needed? It would be greatly appreciated.
                I think this is done to prevent (or at least hinder) people from abusing save file copying and replacement as a method to cheat to get high scores. Its automatically an issue in any game that both allows you to save progress / resume games later and allows you to copy your save file.

                Comment


                • #9
                  Originally posted by ER777 View Post
                  I think this is done to prevent (or at least hinder) people from abusing save file copying and replacement as a method to cheat to get high scores. Its automatically an issue in any game that both allows you to save progress / resume games later and allows you to copy your save file.
                  Ah thank you. I had not thought about that... (It says a lot about my pure, non cheating nature hehe). So people could save a good game to the cloud part way through, then if they screw up, they could just reload it to get a higher score.

                  I never understand cheating in a game; ultimately the only person you are cheating is yourself. An honestly gotten low score is 1000s of times more satisfying than an ill gotten one IMO.

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    I totally agree, but of course there are some people out there who are looking for easiest way to gain recognition or praise and don't seem to care whether its legitimate or not. They also don't seem to care about ruining things for everyone else unfortunately.

                    Comment

                    Working...
                    X