Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: How to access the Operator’s menu?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    7

    Question How to access the Operator’s menu?

    I can’t seem to find how to access it. Did it get removed?

  2. #2
    Senior Member LeanderL's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    291

    Default

    Yes, it was removed.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Bummer, I loved to experiment with this and also check the audit info.

    Maybe in the future let us enable it in the practice mode (and let us set the ball saver timer...)

    Other idea that would have been fun if operator’s menu was available (I haven’t delved into the tournament settings yet...) : let us create crazy tournaments with different rules, for the tables, different inclinations, bumper strength, times, etc, etc.
    Those settings would be local to the tournament, the scoring will be fair as all would have the same settings as defined in the tournament.
    Maybe with predefined settings as mutators.

    Well I guess I will be keeping all my tables in ZP2.

  4. #4
    Junior Member Deco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    26

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Javalens View Post
    Bummer, I loved to experiment with this and also check the audit info.

    Maybe in the future let us enable it in the practice mode (and let us set the ball saver timer...)

    Other idea that would have been fun if operator’s menu was available (I haven’t delved into the tournament settings yet...) : let us create crazy tournaments with different rules, for the tables, different inclinations, bumper strength, times, etc, etc.
    Those settings would be local to the tournament, the scoring will be fair as all would have the same settings as defined in the tournament.
    Maybe with predefined settings as mutators.

    Well I guess I will be keeping all my tables in ZP2.
    I tought of that too. Changing the rules in the operator menu and start a tournament with hardcore setting. Anyhow, it is good as it is right now tho.

  5. #5
    Community Manager McLovin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    737

    Default

    Yes we removed the operators menu from the game, partly because reasons stated above.

  6. #6
    Member QuietlyWrong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    PS4; London, UK
    Posts
    79

    Default

    I'd like to add 'crazy' operator settings to tournaments too. Maybe a handful of defaults rather than being able to tweak everything by the smallest degree.

    There was no incentive to play around with those settings in the previous games (after initial curiosity) because it stopped high scores from recording. When I heard about the plan for tournaments, I knew operator settings could finally come in to their own.

    And now they're not there at all.

  7. #7

    Default

    Honestly I just liked being able to angle the table a bit steeper. Made the ball a little heavier feeling which felt a lot better to me.

    At the very least can we get a table angle option somewhere, even if it still disables high scores?

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by McLovin View Post
    Yes we removed the operators menu from the game
    Hmmm, sad to see it go. I used it to "Ďnstall extra easy" or just to have 5 balls. Just as the real-world pinball machines have here (Europe). Also, 5 balls helps to achieve the missions/modes better. Oh, and I don't give a rat's ass about other people's high scores. So leaderboards and all that (which I presume is one of the main reasons for creating FX3) are completely ignored by me. And even so, in race games people may tinker on their cars' settings just to get an edge for the leaderboards. And now in FX3 that principle is completely eschewed. Strange...
    Last edited by Flipper; 02-22-2018 at 03:29 PM.

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by McLovin View Post
    Yes we removed the operators menu from the game, partly because reasons stated above.
    Actually, didn't see any reasons stated above that explained why it was removed, not that I ever used it, but we have come to expect it's inclusion as part of the core table experience, much in the same way as a real table has an operators menu. If high scores are disabled for online leaderboards and tournament play like every other table then there must be some logical explanation as to why it was not included as one would assume this aspect of the table is already fully integrated into your core dev kit.
    Accomplishments in real life

    1. Rolled a star wars machine................ie played over 99 levels and rolled it back to level 1.
    2. Rolled Nintendo punch out, several times, same quarter.
    3. Played an entire game of dragons lair and completed it and won while blindfolded.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •