Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: CABINET Issues ABOUNDING!

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    6

    Default UPDATE! CABINET Issues! No Backbox Image!

    I already own about 75 FX2 games in my Steam account that have played successfully, except for a couple losing their backbox images.
    I recently downloaded I think all of the FX3 games again from Steam. I eventually got my code and now I have the following problems so far;

    The backbox images that was suppose to be resolved in May (according to this forum post), seems to not have been. I have no backbox images on any FX3 games in 270 degree mode.
    My flippers do not work. I went back to the same FX2 Aliens game, and my flippers work, but not FX3 Aliens, nor in FX3 Medieval Madness.

    I'm running;
    VPCabs Classic Cabinet
    Steam Account
    Pinball X
    Windows 7 Home Premium Service Pack 1
    Intel Core i5-4460 , CPU 3.2GHz, 64 bit operating system
    Last edited by PinPlayer; 10-19-2018 at 08:08 PM.

  2. #2

    Default

    I have cabinet mode and all of things you have listed are working as intended on my machine with the most recent version of FX3.

    Have you tried contacting VPCabs? This sounds like a configuration issue.

    1 - Have you got the cabinet unlock code showing up in FX3?
    2 - Have you enabled backglass and entered the right positions into FX3?
    3 - Is the system running a keyboard emulator or controller for the buttons? And if so, are they all properly mapped into FX3?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Yes I got the unlock codes. I already configured the flippers, so they now work.
    I asked for steps to fix the these issues, and not recommendations, so when giving me a recommendation please give me the steps on how to fix the issue.
    How do I enable backglass, and enter the right positions? What are those positions?
    What is the mapping, and I already mentioned it's a VP Cabs cabinet, so I can use a keyboard to enter functions when needed, but the pin games play just like a real pinball game.

  4. #4
    Junior Member teamski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PinPlayer View Post
    Yes I got the unlock codes. I already configured the flippers, so they now work.
    I asked for steps to fix the these issues, and not recommendations, so when giving me a recommendation please give me the steps on how to fix the issue.
    How do I enable backglass, and enter the right positions? What are those positions?
    What is the mapping, and I already mentioned it's a VP Cabs cabinet, so I can use a keyboard to enter functions when needed, but the pin games play just like a real pinball game.
    You are going to have to figure out the positions yourself. If I was at home, I could have given you my numbers as a start. You can then fine tune them pretty easily to get your DMD and backglass into their right positions. You will have to get the backglass graphics yourself and copy them into the data\steam sub-directory to get them to show. When I get home, I will look up the position numbers and post them. Each cabinet is going to be different. Mine is an MVP so it is going to differ from yours but it should give you a starting point.

    -Ski

  5. #5

    Default

    I recommend you read this guide:
    https://www.pinballfx.com/?page_id=7754

    and this one:
    https://forum.zenstudios.com/showthr...r-the-beginner

    We can't tell you what to do since we don't know how your system is configured...

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    6

    Default

    I thought I mentioned what I was running in my first post, and I already read both of these forums in detail among many others. I already fixed the flippers, but have not figured out the backbox problems, which has no also added in the DMD not displaying as well. I already added all of the backbox images to the files, and it is turned on in my FX3 control panel.

    Well it looks like I can't post an image here, so here is the numbers typed out:

    Orientation 270
    Dot Matrix reposition; off
    Dot matrix horizontal position; 0
    Dot Matrix vertical postion; 0
    Dot matrix horizontal size; 390
    dot matrix vertical size; 102
    back glass repositioning; off
    backglass horizontal positioning; 0
    backglass vertical position; 0
    backglass horizontal size;600
    backglass vertical size;800
    Last edited by PinPlayer; 10-19-2018 at 08:18 PM.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    6

    Default

    teamski,
    Your kindness is what has kept me in this hobby. Thank you and I posted my numbers.

  8. #8
    Junior Member teamski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Sorry for the wait! Here are my numbers:

    Orientation 0
    Dot Matrix reposition; ON
    Dot matrix horizontal position; 62
    Dot Matrix vertical postion; -300
    Dot matrix horizontal size; 1020
    dot matrix vertical size; 300
    back glass repositioning; ON
    backglass horizontal positioning; 60
    backglass vertical position; -1280
    backglass horizontal size; 1050
    backglass vertical size; 880

    Your DMD and backglass are hidden as they are under your table. Hopefully these numbers will get you closer. I am sure they won't be perfect for your display but you can play with it. Again, sorry for getting back to you late.

    -Ski

  9. #9

    Default

    Turn Backglass Repostioning ON, and Dot Matrix Repostioning ON

    And what I meant by "how your system is configured" is how you have your monitors position within Display settings in Windows.

    Dot matrix horizontal position; 0
    Dot Matrix vertical postion; 0

    Using 0, 0 will position the Dot matrix behind the playfield, in the top left corner of your monitor (so you cannot see it). If your dot matrix monitor is positioned to the right of your playfield monitor, then you need to enter in something like Horizontal: 1080 and Vertical: 0
    If you Backglass monitor is positioned above your playfield in Windows Display settings, then you would want to use; Horizontal 0 and Vertical -600 (this should be a negative number but is just a guess for your setup)

    Then you need to do the same for the Blackglass, but with different position numbers.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Dot Matrix is fixed, and I used the same backbox settings as FX2 games with no luck. I've tried every positive and negative number I can think of with no effect for my backbox.

    1) Am I suppose to have a game running, because I go straight into the cabinet icon and to settings as soon as FX3 starts running. It does adjust the position of the back box weblink letters, but that is all I ever see.
    2) What does "above your playfield monitor in Window's Display setting" mean? Please give specific instructions on how I can get to this place.
    3) I thought instructions in step 2 above were for the backglass> "Then you need to do the same for the Blackglass, but with different position numbers."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •