Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Forum Signature

  1. #1
    Member Scarl3tPirat3's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Nuneaton, Warwickshire, England
    Posts
    68

    Question Forum Signature

    Is there a way I can change the settings so i can display an image as a signature or am I restricted because I'm new, I have made my own sig and would like to use it, what do i have to do to make the display image as signature say yes instead of no?

  2. #2

    Default

    I had problems getting mine to show up too. I think I had to use the "insert link" button to get it to show up rather than just dropping the link in the signature. I know certain types don't show up, but with some tinkering I was able to get mine to work.

  3. #3
    Senior Member shogun00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Western NY (USA)
    Posts
    2,797

    Default

    Just an FYI, I deleted my previous post because it was misleading.

    Quote Originally Posted by BarbieBobomb View Post
    I had problems getting mine to show up too. I think I had to use the "insert link" button to get it to show up rather than just dropping the link in the signature. I know certain types don't show up, but with some tinkering I was able to get mine to work.
    I just checked the source code for your sig.

    Code:
    <a href="http://raptr.com/barbiebobomb?src=em_allsm" target="_blank"><img src="http://raptr.com/badge/barbiebobomb/fss_overall.png" border="0" alt="" /></a>
    This tells me that you used a link tag and an image tag for your sig.

    Unfortunately, I just took a look at my permissions in the sig section and I see the following.

    Code:
    Allow Image BB Code - No
    Can Upload Images for Signature - No
    This is what's causing the problem.

    Since you are an admin, you can do things that us members can't do. To the forum software, the rules don't apply to you. That's why you can post an image in your sig, while we can't.

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shogun00 View Post
    Just an FYI, I deleted my previous post because it was misleading.



    I just checked the source code for your sig.

    Code:
    <a href="http://raptr.com/barbiebobomb?src=em_allsm" target="_blank"><img src="http://raptr.com/badge/barbiebobomb/fss_overall.png" border="0" alt="" /></a>
    This tells me that you used a link tag and an image tag for your sig.

    Unfortunately, I just took a look at my permissions in the sig section and I see the following.

    Code:
    Allow Image BB Code - No
    Can Upload Images for Signature - No
    This is what's causing the problem.

    Since you are an admin, you can do things that us members can't do. To the forum software, the rules don't apply to you. That's why you can post an image in your sig, while we can't.
    Good to know, I thought that might be why.

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Scarl3tPirat3 View Post
    Is there a way I can change the settings so i can display an image as a signature or am I restricted because I'm new, I have made my own sig and would like to use it, what do i have to do to make the display image as signature say yes instead of no?
    Hey, you guys should now be able to use an image as your signature, so go ahead and try again, let me know if it works!

  6. #6
    Senior Member shogun00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Western NY (USA)
    Posts
    2,797

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BarbieBobomb View Post
    Hey, you guys should now be able to use an image as your signature, so go ahead and try again, let me know if it works!
    Still a negative for me and the permissions are still the same in the sig section.

  7. #7
    Senior Member snakeman07's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Santa Clarita, CA
    Posts
    861

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shogun00 View Post
    Still a negative for me and the permissions are still the same in the sig section.
    Yeah I tested it out multiple ways too and still a no-go. It shows in the preview (image) but not in the forums.


    *EDIT* looks like it is only showing in this forum...Either that or it only shows in new posts from now on.
    Last edited by snakeman07; 05-25-2012 at 11:56 PM.

  8. #8
    Member Scarl3tPirat3's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Nuneaton, Warwickshire, England
    Posts
    68

    Default Eureka!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by BarbieBobomb View Post
    Hey, you guys should now be able to use an image as your signature, so go ahead and try again, let me know if it works!
    I Don't know what had to be done or how long it took but THANK YOU it actually works now all i have to do is find a different picture for my avatar
    Thanks again.

  9. #9
    Senior Member shogun00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Western NY (USA)
    Posts
    2,797

    Default

    It's still a no go on the image signatures for me.

    The permissions continue to say "no" for "images for signature" on my account.

    Note: I use the "VBB default" skin, because I can't stand the black background.
    Last edited by shogun00; 06-18-2012 at 05:35 PM. Reason: Left out 'B' in VBB

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shogun00 View Post
    It's still a no go on the image signatures for me.

    The permissions continue to say "no" for "images for signature" on my account.

    Note: I use the "VB default" skin, because I can't stand the black background.
    Interesting, I'll look into it Shogun.

  11. #11
    Senior Member shogun00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Western NY (USA)
    Posts
    2,797

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BarbieBobomb View Post
    Interesting, I'll look into it Shogun.
    Thanks Bobby! I'm sending you a PM with more details.

  12. #12
    KickBeaten Down
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    919

    Default

    I've enabled signature images for certain users - if you're obviously not a spambot, you can request to be added to this group.

    The images can be up to 600px wide and 128px high, 50kb in size.

    For text, you can have 1500 characters in sig including BB code, 750 not including BB code. Max 8 lines.

  13. #13
    Senior Member bclewis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    130

    Default

    I don't like 'em one bit, they make everything look cluttered.

    8 line text sigs are way too long as well

    Just throwing that out there

    [edit: well, at least the sig images are easy to AdBlock. Joy!]
    Last edited by bclewis; 06-20-2012 at 11:36 PM.

  14. #14
    KickBeaten Down
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    919

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bclewis View Post
    I don't like 'em one bit, they make everything look cluttered.

    8 line text sigs are way too long as well

    Just throwing that out there

    [edit: well, at least the sig images are easy to AdBlock. Joy!]
    Settings -> General Settings -> Thread Display Options. You can choose what you want to be displayed there.

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Wonderland, California
    Posts
    87

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by Solitude View Post
    Settings -> General Settings -> Thread Display Options. You can choose what you want to be displayed there.
    Solid work - a man with a plan, on his way to finding all the answers.
    Jw, where do y'all put those signatures together, n is there a way to scan an actual john hancock for one

    How was today btw, oh wise admins? Should we do a nice, soothing group meditation or somethin? Help unwind n all.
    Seriously, thanks for all your patience, with our blatant lack there of. Ya did the avengers... proud. ("justice" seems inappropriate)

    Cheers to a job well done, Zen kru.
    If life's really just a game, it was designed to be played co-op.

  16. #16
    Senior Member bclewis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    130

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Solitude View Post
    Settings -> General Settings -> Thread Display Options. You can choose what you want to be displayed there.
    Cool, nice to have more options; though I couldn't find it under Settings, had to go to Forum Actions -> General Settings -> ... instead.

    [ edit: okay, now I also see it under Settings; maybe I missed it there the first time ]

    I have no problems with short text sigs, I didn't see an option to filter all but those, so I'll just stick to AdBlock to remove the more egregious image sigs.
    Last edited by bclewis; 06-22-2012 at 10:36 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •