Thread: No sound and choppy frame rate

Default No sound and choppy frame rate

I'm new to Steam and I just bought Pinball FX 2 (first game) along with the PFX2 Core Pack. For some reason, I'm not getting any sound and the frame rate is pretty choppy with the flippers not responding so well.

All of the hardware is above the recommended amount. I think it's just a couple of settings I need to adjust on Steam, but I'm not sure what.

Can someone please help me, since I don't play PC games much.

My Hardware:
    OS Version - Windows 7
    Processor - AMD Dual Core @ 2.6GHz
    Memory - 3.7 GB
    Graphics card - Radeon 4200 HD
    Sound card - Realtek ALC662

I'm guessing that the Radeon 4200 is an integrated video card built into your mainboard. If so, the speed of the system ram will have an impact on your performance (ie, ddr2 or ddr3 ram). Built in cards use system ram as video ram.
    PSN ID - cmotors
    Steam ID - Incriminified

Quote Originally Posted by Incriminified View Post
    I'm guessing that the Radeon 4200 is an integrated video card built into your mainboard. If so, the speed of the system ram will have an impact on your performance (ie, ddr2 or ddr3 ram). Built in cards use system ram as video ram.
    Yes, it's integrated on the board. It's DDR2 Ram. The board technically has 4GB, but .3GB is reserved for the graphics chip and it can use more of the actual Ram if it needs to. Surprisingly, it runs smoothly when the ball rolls. It's the flippers that are not responding fast enough and when they do that's when I see the hick-ups. Considering the minimum requirements are far less than the recommended, I shouldn't be experiencing this problem at all.
    Last edited by shogun00; 05-10-2013 at 08:39 PM.

Ok, then you should be doing good one would think. I haven't tried it out yet until I get home, are you able to reduce the display resolution of the game to see if that has an effect?
    PSN ID - cmotors
    Steam ID - Incriminified